Our 2018 headliners: Sonia Sanchez · Kaveh Akbar · Duy Doan · Jeffrey Harrison · Dorianne Laux · Erika Meitner · Carl Phillips · Nicole Sealey · Sean Thomas Dougherty · Rhina P. Espaillat

Purchase your button today at masspoetry.org/festival2018!
avatar for Janine Joseph

Janine Joseph

Virginia Tech
Associate Professor/Dean's Distinguished Visiting Scholar
Blacksburg, VA
Janine Joseph is a poet and librettist from the Philippines. She is the author of Decade of the Brain: Poems (Alice James Books, 2023) and Driving Without a License (2016), winner of the Kundiman Poetry Prize. Her poetry, essays, and critical writings have appeared in The Nation, The Atlantic, Orion, Poetry Northwest, The Poem’s Country: Place & Poetic Practice, Poem-a Day, and the Smithsonian’s “What It Means to Be American” project, among others. She is also co-editing Undocupoetics: An Introduction, forthcoming from Harper Collins/Harper Perennial. Her commissioned work for the Houston Grand Opera and Washington Master Chorale includes The Art of Our Healers, What Wings They Were, “On This Muddy Water”: Voices from the Houston Ship Channel, and From My Mother's Mother. A co-organizer for Undocupoets and MacDowell Fellow, she is an associate professor of creative writing at Oklahoma State University and the inaugural Dean’s Distinguished Visiting Scholar at Virginia Tech.